Home / Virginia / Virginia Western Community College
Virginia Western Community College logo

Virginia Western Community College

location_onRoanoke, Virginia
In-Person

Virginia Western Community College features phlebotomy programs in Roanoke, Virginia.

$3,065
Tuition
16 weeks
Duration
Not stated
Accreditation
Yes
Externship

Program Details

Program Type
Duration
16 weeks
Tuition
From $3,065
Financial aid
See funding options
Externship
Included

Certifications

Accreditation

Not specified

Prepares For

Contact school for details
info

Do you need a licence in Virginia?

Virginia does not require a state licence or certificate to work as a phlebotomist — only California, Nevada, Washington and Louisiana do. Employers there almost always ask for a national certification such as the NHA's CPT, the ASCP's PBT, or AMT's RPT, and most programs are built to prepare you for one of them.

Common questions about Virginia Western Community College

How much does the Virginia Western Community College phlebotomy program cost?

Tuition runs about $3,065. That figure is what the school publishes for the program itself; textbooks, scrubs, a background check, and the certification exam fee are usually billed separately, so ask for a full cost sheet before you enrol.

How long is the Virginia Western Community College phlebotomy program?

The program runs 16 weeks. Phlebotomy is one of the fastest routes into healthcare — most programs finish in a few weeks to a single semester, far short of a two-year degree. Clinical externship hours are part of that time, not an extra step afterwards.

Do I need a licence to work as a phlebotomist in Virginia?

Virginia does not require a state licence or certificate to work as a phlebotomist — only California, Nevada, Washington and Louisiana do. Employers there almost always ask for a national certification such as the NHA's CPT, the ASCP's PBT, or AMT's RPT, and most programs are built to prepare you for one of them.

Does the Virginia Western Community College program include a clinical externship?

Yes. An externship puts you in a real lab or draw station with live patients, which is what most employers and — in regulated states — the certifying body want to see.

Where is Virginia Western Community College located?

The program is based in Roanoke, Virginia. Check with the school which campus or clinical site your cohort actually meets at, as it is not always the main address.

Ready to start your phlebotomy career?

Tell us how to reach you and we'll follow up about Virginia Western Community College in Roanoke and other accredited programs near you. Free, and there's no obligation to enroll.

  • check_circle16 weeks program
  • check_circleTuition and payment options explained
  • check_circleIncludes a clinical externship

Free, no obligation. We never sell your information without your consent — see our Privacy Policy.